top of page
Writer's pictureTriza April Atiola

IF I WERE TO BE THE ARTIST OF MY SUMMER


Let me paint you a picture of how I spent my summer year 2019, as I stroke my brush on my canvas, I knew that the sky is blue; the palm trees are green. The water was crystal clear and was captivated by its claimed radiance. Every stroke of the wave is the simultaneous blow of the wind. I was enchanted by the calm sea and I remember it so well how with each step of my foot, I felt the fineness of the sand. Whether it’ll be morning or night the island is full of light and color that seems to be very much alive. Looking for a place to have fun, relax, or have quality time with your family or friends you may experience it on the Island of Boracay where the word sleep does not exist. You will meet tourists and locals from different places. As a student, I also need to take a break from academics, and one of these ways is to make the most out of it and be wise in using holidays such as “Semester break” or “Christmas break”. Which lead to the content of my painting that contains my experiences in the Boracay island that we chose to visit as a family located on Malay Island, Albay.


Blending colors from the pastel pallet of mine, a unforgettable breathtaking view of scenery came in to my mind. In this island, not only swimming activity you could do but also they have various of offers called “package deals”, where you can do the following activities such as: scuba diving, banana boating, sky diving, Island hopping and more. Boracay is one of the most visited tourist spot here in the Philippines where tourists from different countries pass by to relax and at the same time to have fun. As a smart vacationer, it is better to plan it well before embarking on your vacation such as booking a hotel, where you can stay. There are many hotel options in Boracay, some near the beach and some not far from the beach. The opportunity should not be missed to experience their culture, traditions and their delicacy where you can find it in the restaurants lined up near the beach. Don’t forget to try their famous “braided hair”, where your hair is painted with bright colors and decorated with ornaments to look like an island person to blend in with the locals. They also offer a variety of crafting that you can buy at the cheapest price.


As I paint the final touches of this art to complete my masterpiece, I’ve realized that this island is not all about those fun experiences but also it is for me and to those tourists to recognized and learned about the lifestyle of the people who live in here. Out of that stunning sunset and sunrise that rise from the middle of the sea are the beautiful faces of people who live with no judgement. On this holiday everyone is free, free to wear revealing dresses without being at the state of uncomfortable, and free to decide as long as you are happy and no one is trampled on. To end this painting of mine, three days are enough for you to experience the beauty of this island, with those three days, their warm welcome, genuine smiles and their heart with a touch of gold would make you want to stay and just live in that Island. What a beautiful art it is.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page