top of page
Writer's pictureJumeirah Susulan

GAMING: ESCAPE FROM REALITY




Everything began to change when I began playing; it was at this point that I could no longer go out and have fun as a child. Playing video games helped to escape from a stressful reality, especially in the midst of the pandemic. It's always been my stress reliever, and having to meet new people every day through gaming enhances my ability to communicate, and the team play that we do helps me forget about my exhaustion after a long day of studying and doing schoolwork.


Gaming has a lot of great effects, but it also has a lot of harmful effects on youngsters, and it will all depends on us. It will be determined by how well we manage our time and confine ourselves to video games such as Pubg, Valorant, Mobile Legends, Codm, and others.






In reality, I was an introvert who preferred to sit in the back of the room and read a book or sleep when there was nothing else to do. But little did they know that when I'm in front of the computer playing video games that I enjoy and talking to my online friends all day about the new skins, character/agents that have just been released, I change. I become someone that few knows about, the attitude that I have when playing is far from the reality that they all know. Having anxiety and no one to talk to in reality is the worst feeling, but I'm still grateful to my online friends who care and comfort me in this situation.


When I lose in a game, I try my hardest to do my best and improve my skills so that I can be better in the next game, and I can easily accept criticism about my gameplay, but in reality, it's not the same because I easily get hurt, even though it's a way to help me be better in reality, and that's what's been bugging me about how people accept the fact that they lost. Even though they know that they can still fight for it. Gaming and life are not that distinct, despite the fact that gaming is about playing games and reality is about what we do and what our lives are about.



“For most people, playing video games is a normal, healthy way to relieve stress, but some reach a point and can no longer control that behavior. Loss of control is, of course, a hallmark of addiction,” Gentile said. “If students in the study were more stressed and they played video games specifically as a way of coping, then their risk of dysfunctional symptoms increased.” In that case It will all just depends on how each one of us can handle our playing addiction to avoid having a risk of dysfunctional symptoms and may lead to a gaming disorder so for us to be a responsible gamer we then must limit ourselves.




If you are starting to get addicted to video games and can’t seem to focus lately on the work that you have to do then this links may help you to be a responsible gamer.



31 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentario


haysraedding2002
08 dic 2021

yes true💯😂

Me gusta
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page